First Church Congregational, Fairfield

148 Beach Road, Fairfield, CT Get directions Visit Website

Dr. Frank Martignetti

2010 Klais Tracker III/41 Ranks

Klais Tracker III/41 Ranks

Orgelbau Klais is a German firm that designs, builds and restores pipe organs. It is a family run company, founded in 1882 by Johannes Klais senior and is now run by his greatgrandson Philipp Klais. The firm is based in Bonn, Germany, and has completed many large-scale building and restoration projects around the globe in more than a century of organ building Johannes Klais studied organ building in Alsace, Switzerland and Southern Germany. He founded his own organ building workshop in Bonn in 1882. His way of building organs was closely bound up with traditional construction methods using slider wind chests. But as early as before the turn of the century he built high pressure stops with two mouths on pneumatic cone valve chests. In 1906, together with his son Hans, he introduced electric action. Hans Klais took over in 1925. In his time facade design began to come under the influence of the modern age and ergonomic console designs were also being developed. Hans Gerd Klais, the founder’s grandson, took charge in 1965. Philipp Klais, the great-grandson of the founder, studied organ building in Alsace, France; in Germany and overseas. He now runs the company.

Organ Specifications
Johannes Klais Orgelbau, Bonn
Opus 1881
36-stop, 41-rank, 3-manual, tracker pipe organ at First Church Congregational Fairfield; Built 2010.

I. Choir C-c4
8 Burrdon (sic!)*
8 Dulciana
4 Flötenprincipal
2 2/3 Quinte
2 Waldflöte
1 3/5 Terz
8 Coreinette (sic!)*
* original names Bourdon and Clarinette have been modified.
II. Great C-c4
16 Violon
8 Principal
8 Flute harmonique
8 Gamba
4 Octave
2 Superoctave
2 Mixtur IV
8 Trompete
Tuba (prepared)
III. Swell C-c4
16 Burrdon
8 Geigenprincipal
8 Rohrflöte
8 Aeoline
8 Vox coelestis
4 Traversflöte
4 Violine
2 2/3 Harmonia aetheria IV
16 Basson
8 Trompette
8 Basson Hautbois
Pedal C-g1
32           Resultant
16 Open Wood
16 Subbass
16 Burrdon* (from Swell)
8 Principal
8 Burrdon
4 Octave
16 Posaune
16 Basson (from Swell)
Choir to Great
Swell to Great
Swell to Choir
Swell Suboctave
Swell Superoctave
Choir Suboctave
Choir Superoctave
Choir to Pedal
Great to Pedal
Swell to Pedal
Swell Superoctave to Pedal

Slider Wind Chests
Mechanical Key Action (Electric Coupling Action)
Electric Stop Action
Setter Combination System with 1,000,000 combinations, divided into 1000 levels with 100 groups, each featuring 10 Generals and 6 Divisionals for each Division

Recent AGO Performances

Photo Gallery:
June 5, 2011 – Member Recital – Paul Knox Salute

November 8, 2015 – Celebration of Life – Paul E. Knox
June 5, 2011 –   Member Recital – Paul Knox Salute


November 8, 2015 – Celebration of Life – Paul E. Knox
II. Choral from Symphony No. 2 in E minor, Op. 20 (1903) Louis Vierne – Aymeric Dupré la Tour, organ
Hymn-improvisation on “A Mighty Fortress”*** EIN FIESTE BURG Verses 1-3 Melody by Martin Luther c.1529 – John Michniewicz, organ
Visions (1997) Joe Utterback (1944-) Dedicated to Dr. Louise Miller | Minister of Music, Emeritus First Congregational Church | Stratford, Connecticut –
Galen Tate, organ; Joe Utterback, piano
Reflections (2015) Utterback In memory of Paul Knox – flautist Joshua Toman Darren Ziller, flute, Joe Utterback, piano
Gammal fäbodpsalm från Dalarna Oskar Lindberg (Old Stable Song from Dalarna) (1887-1955) – Paul Jacobson, organ
Nunc Dimittis (1957) Paul E. Knox (1930-2015) written for Emmanuel Baptist ChoirPaul Knox Chamber Choir, Mike Lantowski, organ, Aymeric Dupré la Tour, conductor
I Will Sing (10/18/2010)** KnoxMike Lantowski, organ; Paul P. Defrance and Rick Sanislo, trumpet; Aymeric Dupré la Tour, conductor
“Libera me” from Requiem, Op. 48 (1877, 1887-93)** Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)Thomas Woodman, baritone; Paul Knox Festival Choir & Chamber Orchestra; Aymeric Dupré la Tour, conductor
Cantata No. 80, Ein Feste Burg – A Mighty Fortress (1723?, 1728-31?) Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)Rebecca Craig, soprano; Helena Brown, mezzo-soprano; Karl Scully, tenor; Michael Costantino, bass-baritone; Paul Knox Chamber Choir & Orchestra; Aymeric Dupré la Tour & Meg Williams, conductors – *** Fourth verse of “A Mighty Fortress”

February 9, 2014 – Member Concert –
A. Corelli, Concerto Grosso No. 9 (F Major), Op. 6
A. Scarlatti, Harpsichord Concerto No. 3 (U.S. Premiere) featuring Dr. Dupre’ la Tour
A. Vivaldi, Summer from The Four Seasons, RV. 315 featuring Danel Khalikov (violin)
O. Respighi, Suite in G Major, P.58 for Organ and Strings (original/complete version), featuring Dr. Dupre la Tour

June 5, 2011 – Member Recital – Paul Knox Salute
Jeffrey Wood – Praeludium in G Minor Dietrich Buxtehude – Bux WV 149
Jeffrey Wood and Galen Tate – Variations on an Easter Theme – John Rutter
Galen Tate – Coronation March from Le Prophète – Giacomo Meyerbeer
Dr. Joe Utterback and Galen Tate – Visions (piano/organ duet ) – Dr. Joe Utterback
Michael Lantowski – Nun Danket Alle Gott – Marche Triomphale – Sigfrid Karg-Elert Op. 65
David Harris – Razzle Dazzle – Richard Gere
Thomas Woodman, Dr. Joe Utterback, David Harris – The Lost Chord (baritone/piano/organ) – Arthur Sullivan