Chapter History

Excellence since 1948 and we’re still going strong!

Chapter Members
Former Deans of the Greater Bridgeport Chapter – June 2012. Front (left to right) Flora Major*, Alice Evans*, Carole Fanslow. Back, Alan Barthel. RoseAnne Homola, Meg Williams, Dr. Paul Knox*, Dr. John Michniewicz  (*-deceased)

We’re proud of our many ongoing accomplishments as a Chapter:

  • A $4,000 annual award to a student studying organ performance in an American University (M. Louise Miller Scholarship Fund – February annual solicitation).
  • Annual Pipescream Halloween Musical Extravaganza featuring the area university and youth choirs, along with our super-talented member performers (week before Halloween).
  • Community Choral Festival featuring 200+ singers in a massed choir led by the area’s finest choral conductors and accompanists
  • 2010 Pipe Organ Encounter summer program for teenage organ students led by wonderful instructors from the New Haven, Fairfield West and the Greater Bridgeport AGO Chapters.
  • Multiple successful Pedals, Pipes, and Pizza events introducing young pianists to the organ.
  • In 2020, we acquired an Orgelkids kit, allowing children, teens, and adults to learn about the organ, science, and music through building a small organ in a workshop.
  • It’s not all work and no play. We enjoy supporting each other’s concerts and socializing at our annual Epiphany party and Annual Dinners.

Join Us!

So whether you are full time or part time church musician, or fan, choir member, soloist, instrumentalist, come get “plugged in” to this professional and social network of peers. Learn how working together and sharing our resources we can create exciting events and link you to opportunities you might not even know exist.

Past Chapter Deans

1948-1950:   Dorothy Kish  (founder)†

1950-1952:   Ethel H. Brandon†

1952-1954:   Robert L. Lenox†

1954-1955:   M. Louise Miller†

1955-1957:   Phyllis McCurry†

1957-1958:   Dorothy Menne†

1958-1960:   Florence B. Forstrom†

1960-1961:   Charles Hickman†

1961-1962:   Patricia Brown†

1962-1964:   Dorothy Partridge†

1964-1966:   John Alves†

1966-1968:   Francis L. Yates†

1968-1969:   Frederick DeHaven

1969-1970:   David L. Tate†

1970-1972:   Carole J. Fanslow

1972-1974:   Alice B. Evans†

1974-1975:   Dr. Paul E. Knox†

1975:            Alan Barthel

1976:            Sonya T. Schopick*†, Donald Keene*†

1976-1978:   Sonya T. Schopick†

1978-1981:   Mark C. Kasmin†

1981-1983:   Barbara Bayers Muller

1983-1985:   Suzanne Scott†

1985-1986:   Bruce J. Barber

1986-1989:   Marie E. Lambert†

1989-1991:   Barbara A. Bayers

1991-1996:   K. Bryan Kirk

1996-1997:   Wilma Y. Whitley†

1997-1999:   Carole J. Fanslow*, Kitty Hubbard*†

1999-2003:   David L. Yoder

2003-2007:   Flora H. Major†

2007-2009:   Dr. John T. Michniewicz

2009-2012:   RoseAnne Homola

2012-2014:   Rev. Meg Williams

2015-2016:   Rev. Meg Williams*, Dottie Cameron*

2016-2017:   Dottie Cameron*, Bernadette Aubin Allan*

2017-2021:   Dr. Frank Martignetti
2021-2022   Daniel Brownell*, Frank R. Zilinyi*

2022-2023  Chris Muller*, Frank R. Zilinyi*
2023-           Chris Muller*, RoseAnne Homola*

†  Deceased

*  Co-deans